I still like a bit of Ikea… perhaps not as much as I used to, but occasionally a piece crops up that is extremely covetable.

When this piece was released back in 2009 I was living on a tiny island in the Pacific with really crappy internet access.  I had no idea it existed or that it had been a stellar piece from the collection.  Press forward three years and I stumbled upon it in the Geneva Ikea showroom.  It resembles Nanna Ditzel’s mushroom pieces which I had been lusting after for a very long time so there was no question about it coming home with me.  The store man couldn’t find it for me, although the computer said that one still existed, but we persisted, and eventually we found it, albeit in the wrong spot on the shelf.  I bought the last one the showroom had and have never seen it for sale since.

Designed by Christian Halleröd it is a lovely, solid, versatile piece.  It’s gone from being a telephone table to a side table, to a kid’s stool at a low table for crafting, to a bedside table.