There is nothing particularly rare or unusual about these pieces but I’m becoming more and more fond of them all the time.

I remember becoming aware of this 1968 design, called Ultima Thule, designed by Tapio Wirkkala, maybe about 15 years ago and thought it was interesting back then.  However, I never collected it until I stumbled upon these pieces (at different opshops and at different times) more recently.  The six bowls were picked up for $5 and the carafe for $3.

I don’t think I was even thinking about keeping them at the time;  I just knew they were Iittala and collectible.  However, a little bit of research into them turned up that Wirkkala was inspired for this design by the melting ice in Lapland. We visited the southern part of Lapland, in Finland, a few years ago and were all enchanted.  It was a true Narnia.  Coupled with the fact that my girl has, of her own volition, selected these pieces as THE ice cream bowls of choice, has rendered them a bit more special.

Thousands of hours of glass blowing and endless hand carving of graphite moulds apparently went into the design in order to produce the effect Wirkkala wanted.  And the end result can now be picked up in vintage stores and op shops for ridiculous prices.  Seriously, what is there not to love about good design?