I’ve been debating whether to add these eggcups to the site.  However, they are really quite difficult to come by and are much loved by us, so thought I’d add them anyway.

I must put on the record that Alessi is a brand that I really have a love/hate relationship with.  I have found many pieces I truly admire by them (Gio Ponti designs are just one), but just… can’t… when it comes to all their quirky kitsch pieces on offer (the toothpick holders and floss holders etc).  I just hate them.  The Atomium though, really did it for us.

Designed by Christian Ghion, it is made from melamine and is apparently inspired by the 1958 Brussels expo building.  The eggcups stack in yellow or white and apart from being a gorgeous atom like structure, also look like an egg from the side.  There are three of us in our family, so the whole concept was too adorable to pass up.